OTD in 1978, The Rolling Stones Release 'Some Girls'

June 9, 2017
The Rolling Stones on the Red Carpet

USA Today

On this day (June 9) in 1978, The Rolling Stones released the album Some Girls, which included hits like “Miss You,” “Beast of Burden,” “Shattered,” and “Respectable.” The number of hits led it to go on to become a six-time Platinum record in the US.

According to the band’s website, Keith Richards dropped the ‘s’ off his last name in 1963, but it was on Some Girls that he added it back on again. Because when you’re in The Rolling Stones, you can do what you want, right? Right.

In honor of the album’s anniversary, listen to a live version of one of our Some Girls favorites, “Beast of Burden.”

Some Girls track list:

1. Miss You

2. When the Whip Comes Down

3. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)

4. Some Girls

5. Lies

6. Far Away Eyes

7. Respectable

8. Before They Make Me Run

9. Beast of Burden

10. Shattered