Neil Young Shares Title Track off Lost 1976 Album, 'Hitchhiker'

August 4, 2017
Neil Young

USA Today

Good news, Neil Young fans! The folk singer-songwriter has just announced that an album he recorded back in 1976 will be released next month! The lost album, titled Hitchhiker, is due for a September 8 release, and we’re excited to hear some new-to-us, old-school Young.

According to Rolling Stone, Young recorded 10 acoustic songs over the course of one day on August 11, 1976 at Malibu’s Indigo Studios. The result of that session? Hitchhiker.

While we’ve already heard some of the forthcoming album’s tracks, a few previously unreleased gems can be heard upon its September release. See below for the full track listing and preview the album’s title track here!

Hitchhiker track listing: 

  1. Pocahontas
  2. Powderfinger
  3. Captain Kennedy
  4. Hawaii
  5. Give Me Strength
  6. Ride My Llama
  7. Hitchhiker
  8. Campaigner
  9. Human Highway
  10. The Old Country Waltz