The famous rock band Deep Purple performs on stage during thier concert in Minsk, Belarus

© Natallia Charkesava | Dreamstime

Ian Gillan, "The Voice" of Deep Purple, to Issue His Own Box Set


October 26, 2017

Although DEEP PURPLE has had a few lead vocalists in their long & illustrious rock & roll career (Rod Evans, Glenn Hughes, David Coverdale), it is, without a doubt, singer IAN GILLAN who has cast the longest shadow and is foremost in fans' minds when talking about the heritage, British hard rock band.

Even though Gillan took a few years away here and there, he has enjoyed the longest tenure with the band and the most successful years of Deep Purple's reign. Mr. Gillan has just announced his own 3-disc box set that highlights (some of) the music he made in the years he was not with Deep Purple. The new set, titled The Voice of Deep Purple-The Gillan Years, is set for release November 17th.

Included in the set will be his 1990 solo album, Naked Thunder, and 2 LPs with The Ian Gillan Band: Scarabus (1977), and 1988's Accidentally On Purpose, which had Mr. Gillan paired with his DP band mate, Roger Glover. Intended to highlight the singer's varied and impressive career through the years, the new box set will also include 5 bonus tracks and an interview with Mr. Gillan.

Currently, Ian Gillan remains on the DEEP PURPLE “Farewell Tour” in support of their most recent album, inFinite. Rock on, Ian Gillan!

Ian Gillan, 'The Voice of Deep Purple: The Gillan Years' Track Listing
CD 1
1. “Gut Reaction”
2. “Talking To You”
3. “No Good Luck”
4. “Nothing But The Best”
5. “Loving On Borrowed Time”
6. “Sweet Lolita”
7. “Nothing To Lose”
8. “Moonshine”
9. “Long And Lonely Ride”
10. “Love Gun”
11. “No More Cane On The Brazo”
12. “Smoke On The Water” (Bonus Track)
13. “Black Night” (Bonus Track)

CD 2
1. “Scarabus”
2. “Exhausted”
3. “Poor Boy Hero”
4. “Mercury High”
5. “Pre-Release”
6. “Slags To Bitches”
7. “Apathy”
8. “Mad Elaine”
9. “Country Lights”
10. “Fool’s Mate”
11. “Child In Time” (Bonus Track)
12. “Woman From Tokyo” (Bonus Track)

CD 3
1. “Clouds And Rain”
2. “Evil Eye”
3. “She Took My Breath Away”
4. “Dislocated”
5. “Via Miami”
6. “I Can't Dance To That”
7. “Can't Believe You Wanna Leave”
8. “Lonely Avenue”
9. “Telephone Box”
10. “I Thought No”
11. “Cayman Island”
12. “The Purple People Eater”
13. “Chet”
14. “Restless” (Bonus Track)
15. Interview – Ian Gillan Japanese Tour (Bonus Track)