Cage the Elephant Announce Album, 'Unpeeled'

Includes reworked originals and a trio of covers

June 22, 2017
Cage the Elephant Unpeeled

provided by Q Prime Management

Kentucky—now Nashville—rock octet Cage the Elephant (I have no idea how many people are in this band these days, but it feels like a billion) are set to kick summer into overdrive with a live album! 

Cage the Elephant: Unpeeled features a series of recordings from acoustic-ish shows they performed this spring on a series of dates where they also rolled tape. The sometimes unplugged, sometimes plugged-in record features a pretty sweet cover of Wreckless Eric's "Whole Wide World" that the band busted out live on Late Night with Seth Meyers:

21 tracks in total, Cage have reworked 18 of their own songs to be stripped down, more honest, and more intimate, at times weaving in string sections and percussion. They also include three covers including Wreckless Eric, The Stranglers’ “Golden Brown” and Daft Punk’s “Instant Crush”. Unpeeled is due July 28th from RCA Records and pre-orders are in full swing at iTunes.

Check out the official video for "Whole Wide World" recorded at a show in Nashville.

Unpeeled Tracklist:
1. Cry Baby
2. Whole Wide World*
3. Sweetie Little Jean
4. Spiderhead
5. Take It Or Leave It
6. Too Late To Say Goodbye
7. Punchin’ Bag
8. Shake Me Down
9. Telescope
10. Instant Crush*
11. Trouble
12. Ain’t No Rest For The Wicked
13. Rubber Ball
14. Aberdeen
15. Golden Brown*
16. Cold Cold Cold
17. How Are You True
18. Come A Little Closer
19. Back Against The Wall
20. Cigarette Daydreams
21. Right Before My Eyes